• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

SSA Payments Received while working

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

Pazzie

What is the name of your state? Florida
I have been receiving SS Disbility since 1994 for a mental health disability. I was not able to work for a long time but went to work in October 99 part-time which led to a 36 hour week. This job ws the only thing that helped me through many difficult mental health episodes and the disability continues to this date. SSA contacted me and told me that I should not have been receiving disability since I was working and have decided to stop payments. What I am afraid of now is what they are going to do me since they have deemed that the disability payments received since 10/99 should not have happened. I am terrified of what is going to happen. This of course is not helping my disability as this has sent me into a total tailspin. I wrote SSA and told them that the disability continues and asked them what to do now.
I need to know what they may do and what they will do to me.

tigger22472

You are REQUIRED to report any income you make to the SSA. It's in all the paperwork you've received. They can SUE you for back payment of what they have given you since '99 and they can prevent you from ever receiving it again.

Whyte Noise

You are allowed a 9 month "trial work period", where you get your full benefits during that 9 months. The 9 months does not have to be consecutive, but it does have to be within a 60 month (5 year) period.