• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I'm not paying my parking ticket & I'm moving out of state

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

H

hawkinSD

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? CA

I'm a CA resident, and I'm planning on ignoring a very expensive parking ticket I just received here because I'm moving to New Jersey at the end of the summer & I'll be a resident there for at least three years.

Question #1: will i have any problem registering my car (the one cited) in NJ?
Question #2: will i have any problem getting a NJ driver's license?
Question #3: will i have any problem registering my wife's car in NJ? (the back of my ticket says it "constitutes a lien on ANY vehicle you own")
Question #4: will my wife have any problem getting a NJ driver's license?
Question #5: if CA still comes after me in NJ (even via NJ DOT) is that any cause for alarm? (i.e., will i get arrested? etc.)
Question #6: i will be visiting CA on business during my three years away, but driving rental cars. am i safe if i'm carrying a NJ license?
Question #7: assuming i'm able to wait this thing out, how long before the ticket is wiped from the books in CA?

thanks!
hawkinSD

P

Peety

According to another thread here on this forum, some states turn over unpaid fines (and any additional fees for non payments) to collection agencies. This would adversely affect both your credit and your wifes credit report.