• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Worked for five months. Start over?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

marxsd

What is the name of your state? Texas
I have been disabled since 03/2001with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome/Depression. I am an environmental consultant. While awaiting a SSI hearing, I tried to work (from 01/2003-06/2003 but was fired because I could not perform the duties of the position. The hearing was held in 08-2003. The judge found that I qualified for disability from 03/2001-01/2003 but would have to file a new claim begining 06/2003 because I had worked more than three months. I have reapplied and have been denied. Is there any short cut to the process because I have already been determined as disabled and nothing about my medical condition has changed? Any precedent case law or SSI law/rules?
Thank you in advance.

Whyte Noise

Ah, but see... to the SSA your medical condition HAS changed.

When you file for SSI or DIB you're asserting that your condition is disabling, rendering you unable to work.

You worked for 5 months, and apparently met the SSA's threshold of SGA (Substantial Gainful Activity). If you work and earn over $810 a month in wages, then SSA considers you working at the SGA level, therefore you are not disabled.

The 5 months of work you did while waiting on approval pretty much wiped out your claim of disability to the SSA. If your medical condition hadn't changed as you claim, then you wouldn't have been able to work those 5 months at a SGA level. See what I'm saying?