• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Difference in state laws on divorce action.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

H

Hailey52

What is the name of your state? Wisconsin/Minnesota
My husband and I have recently separated and I have moved to Minnesota, where I have been a resident for six months. My husband is talking about filing for divorce. I also am thinking about filing for divorce. Which state's laws take precedence and is there any material difference in divorce laws in the two states?

There are no minor children involved, however, there are considerable assets to divide.

BelizeBreeze

MINNESOTA:
(518.06)(1)
Minnesota is a "no fault" divorce state. The only ground for divorce under Minnesota laws is an "irretrievable breakdown of the marriage relationship".

(518.07)
Minnesota divorce laws require at least one of the parties to have resided in the state of Minnesota for at least one hundred eighty (180) days.

(518.13)(5)
A final divorce hearing is not necessary if:

a. There are no minor children of the marriage, and (i) the parties have entered into a written stipulation, or (ii) the respondent has not appeared after service duly made and proved by affidavit and at least 20 days have elapsed since the time for answering has expired; or

b. There are minor children of the marriage, the parties have signed and acknowledged a stipulation, and all parties are represented by counsel.

Minnesota laws allow the final divorce decree to be issued once at least thirty (30) days have passed since the petition was filed.

WISCONSIN: