• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is builder responsible to fix location of fence

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Milkyway

What is the name of your state?california...I bought a brand new house aug 2000. This year I will put a block wall with my neighbor but the fence is currently on my property. I pulled records and it shows that I was correct. I am an engineer by trade so a few stakes and string will do it for me given a reference point. Getting a licensed survey will just be a formality. Can I cite the builder for breach of contract since I did not get the merchandise I bought 4 years ago? This is a problem for me because i am payingtaxes on land that i don't even have. I have all documents signed at closing.

Last edited:

HomeGuru

Milkyway said:
What is the name of your state?california...I bought a brand new house aug 2000. This year I will put a block wall with my neighbor but the fence is currently on my property.

**A: what fence?
I pulled records and it shows that I was correct.

**A: what records? To prove the property boundary lines, you need a survey.
I am an engineer by trade so a few stakes and string will do it for me given a reference point. Getting a licensed survey will just be a formality.

**A: I disagree. You are not a licensed surveyor and should not be acting as one.
Can I cite the builder for breach of contract since I did not get the merchandise I bought 4 years ago?

**A: we have no idea what merchandise you were contracted to purchase together with the home.
This is a problem for me because i am payingtaxes on land that i don't even have. I have all documents signed at closing.