• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Opposing Counsel conflict of interest?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

S

strider5

What is the name of your state? CA

I have been battling for basic rights for almost 6 years now (child born out of wedlock, I have lived across the country since before birth). I am going back into court soon because she constantly screws with my visitation when I fly out, refuses to let me fly our child to my house to visit with me and my wife, and refuses to change the child's last name as ordered by the judge during the first round.

my question is this: the commissioner of the court is the son of her lawyer. how is this NOT a conflict of interest?? :confused:

people have said "well he is not the judge presiding, but what does that matter since he is effectively their boss and they all know opposing counsel is his mother?"

this is BS :mad:

nextwife

What is your court ordered visitation? If she is refusing to abide by the CO, she is in contempt, no matter who knows who. You need an attorney. What have you/your attorney done to enforce visitation?

S

strider5

court had ordered "reasonable" visitation and had given her full legal custody, so they really reinforced in her mind that she holds all the cards and is untouchable. this is exactly why I am going back into court soon with my new lawyer (my old lawyer was completely inept)

and what sucks is how all I ever hear about is girls who wish their child's father would like to be involved more. I make 3x her salary, am married and can provide a stable home environment, but the court lets our child sit in daycare for 9-10 hours per day because of the gender bias in custody decisions. nice...