• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

46.2.862 Reckless in Virginia, Arlington Co

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

F

freqflyer

What is the name of your state? VA

I am a MD resident who flies on a weekly basis out of National Airport in Wash DC (actually in Arlington VA) so I am very careful to observe the posted and radar enforced speed of 25mph through the airport proper.

The other day I was leaving for a flight, and passed a cab driver on the GW pkwy who was doing 30 in an effort to make my flight. To my error, I thought the limit was 50 in that area, when in actuality it was posted at 40. I'm not sure, but may have exceeded 40 when passing the cab. Entry into the airport proper is marked with a Yellow 30 MPH sign, followed by another yellow 30 MPH sign.

After that, the enforced limit drops to 25mph.

Here is what happened. After travelling up the road at 25 mph, ready to pull in the parking garage, the (rent-a-cop) Airport Auth police turns on the lights, approaches and asks where am I in a hurry to? (Duh...) I say nothing, producing lic/reg, and he asks if I know the limit on the GW. I state I believe it is 50. he states, you are wrong it is 40, and you were doing 50 mph. I figure, okay...I'm wrong, I'll take a speeding ticket, so be it.

During this time, my wife and I sit in the car and wait.

Officer comes back with a ticket for Reckless Driving, citing 46.2.862. I say excuse me? He notes, you were doing 50 in a 40, then 40 in a 30, then 40 in a 30 again, only slowing to 25mph when you hit the 25 zone. That equals more than 25 mph over the posted speed, which equals reckless in virginia, which equals 5000 dollar fine and min 5 days in jail.