• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Confidentiality @ The Workplace

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

Marsh1973

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? North Carolina

about one month ago, i indicated to my boss - who is not a human resource manager - that i had been having some personal issues recently and needed to take some time off from work to get things straight. i also mentioned that i thought that i drank alcohol too often. i am a commercial insurance broker. drinking is very acceptable in this profession. my boss was supportive and told me to do what i needed to do to get back to "normal."

since that time, he has moved up to a new position and i have a new boss. yesterday afternoon, new boss asked to meet with me to discuss several different items. that is normal in my occupation, but what was not normal is that one of the staff managers was also in the "meeting," which i thought was very strange. this staff manager is not involved in human resources and is not my manager in any capacity.

my new boss proceeded to tell me that he had been informed (by the old boss) that i may have a chemical dependency (which is not what i said). new boss gives me a document outlining a course of action to remedy the situation. it reads as follows:

1) you will immediately seek to be evaluated by a physician or other appropriate health professional to determine if you are alcohol and/or chemical dependent
2) you will provide (company name) with evidence of your evaluation by delivering a signed statement to that effect from the evaluating health professional