• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Advice Needed about Emancipation dealing with SSI

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

CreativeGlitter

Hello

I am from the state of NJ and I have been raised with a learning disability, recently I had began receieving the SSI insurance. I graduated from high school and I am 21, overage. My parents have been controlling the money that is rightfully mine, I live on my own....My first question is how can I find out if they do have the rights over me? Considering they control my ssi check? Second if they do how can I seperate legally from them to control my own fiances? Any advice would be deeply appreciated,thank you.

rmet4nzkx

I understand you want to be independent and are very close to that and even one day your parents won't be around to help you with things.

You and your parents face a problems that many families with disabled children face, having to prepare their child to live safely and independently.

Having a representive payee, helps insure that you always have the money to take care of your needs and help with other issues, that if you took care of yourself might accidently not pay something and find yourslef without a place to live or food to eat. I have seen it happen and it can happen without you knowing it is too late.

You should sit down with your parents, case manager and other adults who help you and begin working on a plan to prepare you to live independently and manage your finances with supervision.

At some point it will need to be someone other than your parents, but it is a good idea to have someone you can trust to help you.