• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

using old paintings in new artwork

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

D

digitalartist

What is the name of your state?CA
I am a digital artist and I make artwork with composites of digital images. Can I use an old painting done by Maxfield Parrish in 1922 as a background for one of my artworks to sell or advertise my artwork, or is that copyright infringement?

BelizeBreeze

All of Maxfield Parrish's copyrights are held by:

Visual Artists and Galleries Association (VAGA)
350 Fifth Ave., Suite 2820, New York, NY 10118-2820
phone: (212)736-6666 email: [email protected]

So yes, if you used this particular artist's work in a reproduction without the above's release, it would be infringement.

Notwithstanding the wrong answer you received before.

Even Lambert Marshall (son of Ben Marshall whose painting hang in the National Museum of London) is covered by copyright although he last painted in 1785. The subject of that painting was 'Snowden and rider' showing the horse in the practice field of Lord Snowden, the grandson of the first prime minister of England.

And it looks just wonderful haning above the fireplace in the Hunt room.

D

digitalartist

Thanks. That's what I thought. What about the following:

1. Using portions of old paintings

2. Using paintings by old masters, like Michaelangelo, Caravaggio etc.

I mainly want to use the skies with clouds.

Also, how do I find out if someone does have a copyright on old paintings? Is there a time limit?

Thanks.

BelizeBreeze