• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

are temp staffing "Perm" fees legal?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

mrbluejay

What is the name of your state? california
i am a professional who worked through a temporary staffing agency for one of their clients for about one week over 1 & 1/2 years ago. their client recently called me and wants me to work for them directly. i no longer work for the temp agency. the contract the client signed with the agency states that if any of their personnel are hired in any way by the client, they must pay the agency a substantial "Perm" fee (about $45,000) unless the client cancels the contract in writing and waits one year. the contract the client signed also self-renews each year unless canceled in writing.

is this a legal and enforceble contract? is there a time limit after which i can work for the client without the "Perm Fee" being paid if the client never cancels the contract in writing.

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

mrbluejay said:
What is the name of your state? california
i am a professional who worked through a temporary staffing agency for one of their clients for about one week over 1 & 1/2 years ago. their client recently called me and wants me to work for them directly. i no longer work for the temp agency. the contract the client signed with the agency states that if any of their personnel are hired in any way by the client, they must pay the agency a substantial "Perm" fee (about $45,000) unless the client cancels the contract in writing and waits one year. the contract the client signed also self-renews each year unless canceled in writing.