• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Not sure why I was fired...

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Broken

What is the name of your state? IL

On July 2nd, I was fired from my job. I was a mechanic apprentice at a large dealership. Back in November, at the start of my divorce, I was told I needed to step it up a little bit. Understandably, I was moving a little slower and less enthusiastic than usual. So I picked it up, and ever since, I had been told what a good job I was doing... both by the lead tech I was working with, and by the service manager. In May, I got a $2.50/hr. raise. The workload slowed down a little bit, and since I was an "hourly employee", the Journeyman I was working under booked a lot of the time for the jobs that I did so that he would still be making money (since I would be paid whether I was working or not.) This concerned me because I didn't want to look like I wasn't working since I didn't show very many hours booked. I mentioned it to the lead tech, and he said not to worry about it and he would talk with the service manager. I spoke with the service manager as well, and was told that he understood the situation... again, don't worry. A few weeks later, Friday afternoon at about 4:00pm, I was told that I was being let go because I was unproductive and unmotivated.