• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

a verbal agreement with my job...

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

ctcflyboy

My question is:
If I were to record a conversation with my boss would it be admissable in a small claims court. He would not realize the conversation is being recorded.

Background:
I work as a pilot in New Jersey. I am a resident of Pennsylvania.
My employer just hired me a few months ago.
To get the job I had to pay them for the simulator training I received from them. The Simulator was charged at $500/hour.
I was told told to give them $10,000 to cover the cost and any unused portion would be refunded. I DO Not have this agreement in writting. (stupid of me)

I trained for 14 hours which is $7000. That means I am due $3000 to be refunded according to our verbal agreement.

I have requested (verbally and written) numberous times for my refund. When I was given a responce it was that they would look into it. I have waited 3 months since the completion of training. My patience is wearing thin.

Last edited:

You Are Guilty

Recording might not be your best bet, evidence-wise. How did you pay the $10,000 (please don't say cash). And is there a log or other proof of the time you spent on the sim? Those two together ought to be enough to prove your case in small claims.

JETX

ctcflyboy said:
If I were to record a conversation with my boss would it be admissable in a small claims court.
As long as the case would be heard in PA, or one of the parties to the recorded conversation is IN PA (at the time), no.

Pennsylvania