• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

statutory rape and NJ

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

D

dmcin

What is the name of yur state? New Jersey
I am a counseling psychology grad student and I am working on a case. I have obtained consult from others in the psych feild but I am looking for more input. Here's the case:
I am working with a 15 year old girl who admitted that she is having sex with a 27 year old man. She was previously involved in drugs and was figthing a lot but since he does not approve, she has really cut back on this behavior. Her mother has asked for info about what was said during our sessions. I am not sure whether or not I am required to report this behavior to the client's mother or to the authorities or whether I can keep it confidential.
Any advice?

rmet4nzkx

If this is serious, you have no business working directly with clients. You obviously do not know the required law associated with your aspired profession and are working without appropriate supervision. Please call CPS at :
New Jersey (NJ)
(800) 792-8610
(800) 835-5510 (TDD/Hearing Impaired)
after that call the dean or your advisor at your graduate school and advise them of you situation and seek their guidance. Do not do anything further until an appropriately licensed person takes this case. You may need to seek counsel of an attorney.

D

dmcin