• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Should I fight this?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

A

ahsun98

What is the name of your state? CA

Ok in october of 2000 (i was 20yrs old) I had been helping out at a stable. I had been riding and training a woman's (lets call her Jenn) horses. I was doing it for free lessons and for fun. I started riding a horse of hers named "Sox" who had reminded me of my horse that i had to retire just a few months earlier due to health issues. Every day I rode him she would tell me to buy him and how well he responded to me and how much he looked and acted like "Snoopy" (my retired horse)... well u guessed it I let my heart lead my head and I decided to buy him. We sat down and she said that she wanted $15,000 for him. (in the competitive horse world this isn't a huge price..so that is why I wasn't shocked or anything). I told her I made $8 an hour and had no idea how i would pay her. she said to "pay me when you can, and work it off". She said to think of it as a car payment. I signed a purchase agreement that didn't have a purchase price on it! I thought this was odd but being only 20yrs old and again thinking w/ my heart (i know I know I was stupid!) i went ahead and signed it. in the mean time i rode her horses and gave riding lessons at her place to go toward the horse payment. I was making no money and quickly realized that I would not be able to pay her anytime soon so in early 2001 i started advertising him for sale.. i had many people come out to look at him but because of the economy after sept 11 no one could commit to that amount of money. up until sept 2003 i was actively trying to sell him. I decided to send him to a trainer fr