• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is this theft?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Y

yvovandoorn

What is the name of your state? Washington

I am a resident in Washington State, specifically King County. I am wondering if this situation still qualifies as theft.

I gave a cell phone ($219) and laptop (~$2100) to use to a minor who needed it
1. To keep in touch with friends & family
2. To keep up on her studies

However since then her parents, who is the home owner, has taken away both devices as a way of punishment. I am the legal owner of both devices and have tried to get them back by phoning and sending a letter to their house.

Does this still qualify as theft. The theft a cell phone, which I pay the bill for and is in my name, can qualify as a theft of a telecommunications device which is a class C felony in my state (WA).

The theft of a laptop, which at current market rate (the laptop was bought at $2100) is $1600-$1700 can be considered a class B felony in my state (WA).

Should I call my local law enforcement agency and if I do what would I tell them? At this point I'd rather just have him go to jail as he is holding my devices hostage for over 72 hours. He may give them back to me the moment law enforcement gets involved. Can I still press charges if he does?

So all my questions recapped:
1. Does this situation described above still qualify as theft?
2. Should I call my local law enforcement agency?
3. If he returns the devices can I still press charges?
4. What should I be prepared for?

Thank you,

Yvo

Laws referenced in post:
http://www.leg.wa.gov/RCW/index.cfm?section=9A.56.030&fuseaction=section