• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Awful Ghastly Neighbours = civil harassment?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Ciarraine

Originally I posted this in the Real Estate Law category but probably it belongs here instead. Sorry, I'm a newbie.

I am a college student in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. I own (well, a trust in my name owns, I'm the beneficiary my parents are the trustees) a rowhouse where I live with one roommate who rents from me. There is a similar rowhouse on either side of me. If you were standing on my front steps facing the street, the one on the left has been divided into two apartment condominiums, one on the top two floors, the other on the main and basement floors. The owner of the lower condominium rents his unit to his sister and brother in law. These renters have been causing me problems ever since I moved in (mid August of this year) and I want to cause them to somehow stay out of my life, or (if possible) have them evicted. Here's why:

Upon moving in, the neighbour let it be known that she felt I had no right as an undergraduate to live in her neighbourhood. She did several things of minor annoyance. I saw her with some frequency on the back deck, which is at the same level as her own, and I was unfailingly polite in the face of some very vulgar and strident language. She turned her hose over my deck furniture a few times to make sure it was wet and unpleasant at dinner and breakfast times, she yelled at my guests for putting their feet up on my deck railing, she told me that I had better not play my music loudly or there'd be "severe consequences."

I'm deaf. I don't play music.