• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Long Term Disabity/SSD

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

S

stressed out 46

:confused: What is the name of your state?Florida
Who can I turn to for help on Long Term Disability insurance that does not want to pay. I am a Florida resident and am dealing with the stress of yet another Hurricane and my LTD Insurance Co. threatening to stop in October.

The policy reads that if I am approved for psychological, I am covered for 2 years which they did approve me for psychological.

As I had four major surgeries at one time, I did not recover from the surgeries in time to return to work, which my company sent me a certified letter stating that it would be a voluntary resignation, and I began LTD in Oct 2002. October 2003.

I became severely depressed prior to my surgery as my Administrator was trying to get me to resign prior to the surgery. He would counsel me every Friday just as I was going to leave for the weekend. Worrying about surgery and my position with the company, I became very depressed before surgery and went out on medical leave prior to surgery July 26th 2002. I was scheduled for surgery August 10, 2002, but was postponed until September 18.2002.

I had short term disability and then LTD began in October 24th 2002. I waited several months before they would approve me they said they would pay me until I was approved but if I did not meet the criteria I would have to pay them the money back. Several months passed and I was approved for psychological problems. My policy for LTD is only coverage on psycholigcal for to years and medical coverage is to age 65.