• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Rights to pond

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

D

drdaredevil

Sorry for this long post but I need some advice.

First off, my name is Scott and I am new to this message board. I live in Illinois, and I have come here today because I need something sorted out. I live in a somewhat rich neighborhood and some of the people are really stuck up. The thing is, is that there is a small little pond located in our neighborhood that my friend and I like to go fishing on. A sign in front of the pond says "NO TRESPASSING, PRIVATE PROPERTY", howevery we know one of the residents who's back yard borders the pond and they said that it was alright if we fished there and, if we wanted to, we could take their paddle boat out and go a little further ways down the pond. All around the border of the pond is about 5 feet of rocks in case the level of the water rises or falls. So my friend and I sometimes go walking along these rocks and end up away from the house that gave us permission. Most of the neighbors that see us in their yard come out and tell us to leave, that we are not allowed to fish there. Yesterday, however, one of the guys on the other side of the pond saw us fishing and was telling us that we are not allowed to fish in this pond because he owned it *blah blah blah* and that the people who gave us permission to fish have no rights whatsoever to the pond.

I know for a fact that the people who border the pond pay certain maintainance fee's and stocking fee's, but does that give them ownership to that pond?