• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help - What should I do about this?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

qwer9182

What is the name of your state? Ohio

I am a college student who commutes to school. My car is actually the property of my parents, and the car's license plates are registered under my mother's name. They are very bad when it comes to renewing their license plates and despite several times asking they let the plates (including those on the car I drive) expire. Today, I was pulled over and given a ticket for having expired license plates.

I want to know if I am ultimately responsible for this and have to assume points on my driving record. I tried explaining that I was driving somebody else's car whose registration I cannot control. Will I have any chance of success if I take this to an informal hearing?

CdwJava

Get mom to correct the registration and you bring the corrected registration to court when you go. Failure to do so could be bad and may eventually result in the impound of the vehicle.

- Carl

qwer9182

Does this mean that I'll have a chance? I feel so bad about this...

Should my mom put the car's registration in my name, or just make sure that it is current in hers?

Please tell me what I need to know and that I need to do to prepare for this. My mother is admitting fault to this, so is there a way she can do that?

HomeGuru

qwer9182 said:
What is the name of your state? Ohio