• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Retroactive Disibility Payments.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state? Nevada.

My mother is in need of some advice. I am a law school graduate, not a lawyer yet. She has been through the Social Security Administrative process and has been denied initialy like most others. She sued and had representation. The US District Court for the Dist. of Nevada ruled in my mothers favor. Ruling that she was qrongfully denied disability and calling for payment of back payments retroactively. Several years of payments are due. The judge ruled this in December of 2002. It has been two years and no arrears have been paid whatsoever. I enquire here because she has reached a point of impasse. She has been unable to gain any information from her attorney or the S.S.Administration. Her attorney says he is unable to procure information from S.S.A. regarding her case. Although, he has been paid his share of the settlement, my mother has not. This in itself seems questionable. The attorney has been paid for a service for which he did not provide. (obtaining settlement) Now, the question is two fold. 1: Does the attorney owe a duty to his client to proceed on her behalf, until settlement? 2: What is taking so long there and what is the best way to determine when te settlement will come and what amount it will be. (the old standby of Senator contact has proven unfruitful)

Whyte Noise

JusticeSeeker:

Go to the following website:

http://www.ssas.com/direct.htm