• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is this a legal Employee Agreement?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Hello, I am an auto mechanic located in Minnesota, and I stupidly signed this employee contract without getting legal advice first.

my BIGGEST concern is in section 5 of this agreement it says that bringing in your tools is at your "sole discretion" yet my boss said if I didn't bring in my own tools, I won't make as much money. I would also like to point out that my tools were already at the shop, so would this contract negate anything that has happened before I signed it?

here is a link to the entire contract:
http://home.mn.rr.com/totaleclipse/employee_agreement.html

The reason I am asking is that my boss stole about $2500.00 worth of my tools (several items I could see sitting on his tool box when I went to pick up my items) where he said "You have NO right to be here, get the "F" off of my property" (you can replace the "F" with the actual word) and he called me a bunch of names and said if I were to take him to court he'd "beat the "SH" out of me in court" and he said that my claim of how he owes me my tools back was "blackmail" and "extortion" and that he would have me put in jail if I were to pursue this further.

I am posting in this section "hiring, firing & wrongful termination" because I am not sure where else to put it, mainly because this revolves arround the contract.

Thank you for your time and advice.
--David Jonathan from Minnesota.

Last edited:

BelizeBreeze

I didn't bother reading the contract because this is NOT a contract issue. This is an issue filing a police report of theft against the boss.