• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Social Host Liability?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

haroldroarke

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? PA

I'm not sure where to post this, so I'll try here. I was a teacher at a community college. One day I drove a few students to a local bar, and it turns out that one of the students was underage, 20 years old. He used fake ID to drink alcohol. Nothing happened, everyone was safe. But the father of the underage person complained to the school over what I did, and I was fired, because IF an injury occured to the student I would have gotten the school in trouble. My question is: could I, in any way, have been considered a "social host" and be subjected to liability as a result, even though we were all guests in a bar? I contend that the underage person was still an adult, responsible for his own actions, and I didn't serve drinks or even buy drinks, nor did I have control over the premises. I merely drove them there and was in the same room. I don't know how they can even say I assisted drinking since a person with usable fake ID can get alcohol anywhere, with or without me. It seems to me that a host has to be the one serving or furnishing the drinks, but legally I'm not sure how it is defined. Thank you.

BelizeBreeze

If you think that a 20 year-old is an adult in the eyes of the law which would negate your responsibility, you have more problems than an understanding of 'social host'.

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

haroldroarke said:
What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? PA