• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Need information about leaving Army ROTC

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

chillin315

What is the name of your state? NY. I'm currently a student at a university in New York. I'm a 4th year student. The first two years of college were spent at another university where I wasn't enrolled in Army ROTC. When I transferred to my current university, I took a Leadership course at Ft. Knox to make up for the first two years of ROTC I missed. This brought me to the level of MS3. I signed a scholarship contract in February 2004. This contract stipulated that if I left Army ROTC after signing it that the Secretary of the Army could order me to enlisted duty, as well as, reimbursing the Army.

So my question is how likely is it that I would be ordered into enlisted duty if I left ROTC? I've never been in the active Army nor in the reserves. I would not have a problem paying the Army back the money they used to pay for my schooling but I don't want to be forced to enlist. I'm also currently on anti-depression medication, could that help in my case in not being forced into active duty??

BelizeBreeze

So my question is how likely is it that I would be ordered into enlisted duty if I left ROTC?
How about 100%. Do you like that figure? And your medication has nothing to do with it. It is not an issue with being enrolled in ROTC and won't stop you from fulfilling your obligation of service.

B

BClahan

I'd like to know more about that