• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Overseas Contractor

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

csporluck

I'm a Contractor with the US Military overseas (Middle East). I also have a pregnant wife at home. My company says they are exempt from the FMLA, but at other times they say they fall under Colorado law since that's where the Company is out of, even there's a Middle East Office and HR department located there. The HR department deferrs all leaves and vacations to the Country Managers, and also outright say that we as employees are unable to take vacation time until 6 months. My child is due at about 4 months into this contract. I have no problem taking absent without pay, but the catch is.. in this country a "sponsor" holds your Passport. The only way to get your Passport is for your Employer to get it.... stuff they neglect to mention until AFTER you get in country. Nothing in my contract states that I won't be able to leave the country, it's a policy that is mentioned once we get here.

I'd rather not quit this job, since it pays well and has good medical/dental benefits. I also don't want to be terminated for getting forceful with my request, but I want to know if there's any legal protection out there.

Thanks

Beth3

When you say you're a contractor for the gov't, do you mean that you actually are directly employed by an agency of some sort who in turn lease you to the military? We need to establish where you are someone's EMPLOYEE as opposed to being a true independent contractor which means you are self-employed.

Last edited:

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl