• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

PA non-compete and salary questions

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jlg269

I work as a restaurant manager in Pennsylvania. My employer that I have been working for over the last 5 weeks (just moved from Maryland) suddenly wants all of his managers (including some that have worked for them for over 5 years) to sign non-compete and disclosure agreements. I have been trying to research this and here is a good summary of what I have found. I want to verify that this is in fact true. I have highlighted in italics and via underlining what I consider to be an important qualifier in the word "and" in each of these paragraphs.

quote:
First, in Pennsylvania, a non-compete is generally not valid if signed after employment and without additional compensation.

Second, in Pennsylvania, a non-compete must protect a legitimate business interest of the employer; if you are working in a job that does not compete with the employer, and which would not require you to divulge confidential information you gained while with the employer, there is likely no protectible business interest to underly the non-compete.
end quote: