• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Wrongful Termination / Defamation of Character and Sexual Discrimination

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

colorado1

What is the name of your state? Colorado
I was terminated 2 days ago without any waring or due process. I am an Executive level manager. I was given the reason of "inability to perform my job" and "inappropriate behavior". Here is a recount of the events that lead up to this charge.

Several members of our Corporate team were in town for a grand opening Gala of our new store and we all went out for dinner. My Corporate director gave me the next day off because we had been working 6 day weeks 12-16 hours a day to open our new store.
Later that evening several of us wound up in one of the local drinking establishments. I was sitting with the Director of Finance at the bar and we were laughing and having a bit of fun. We noticed the President of the company had arrived so rather than continue drinking in front of the President we said our goodbyes and left to go to a different bar.

The next morning instead of taking the day off as had been approved I went to work to finish up some paperwork. The paint fumes and construction dust (my office was in the construction zone) were making me ill, so I called my director and left a message that I had gone to work but was now leaving to get a nap before the Gala. I left at 12:45pm and returned at 4:40pm and worked until 11:00pm that evening.