• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Engineering Civil & Criminal Liability

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jondoeengineer

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state?I'm afraid to offer the name of my state as the specifics of my question may reveal my identity.

I am an engineer working for an engineering firm. Our firm was working on a project in another state. While I am a licensed engineer in my home state and not the state we're doing the project in, I have not yet stamped any drawings in any state as I do not feel ready quite yet.

I was primarily responsible for some drafting and design work on some of the equipment on this project. One of the PE's I work for reviewed and stamped the plans. After everything was completed and installed I realized I had made a mistake and inadvertently not followed the "code". It was an error in ignorance for which I feel horrible. Knowing I'd made a mistake, I immmediately pointed this out to my boss and his boss in hopes that we could contact our customer and fix the problem. Granted, it would have cost a bit, but we've fixed more expensive mistakes before. It's everyone's opinion but mine that the ommission is minor and won't cause any problems. I agree that problems are UNLIKELY to arise, but if they do, in my opinion, the system won't operate as we had planned. I've written several e-mails on this to my bosses and have shown them (using other references) why I think this needs to be fixed. I've pretty much been told that they are willing to accept the risk if any liability should ever arise.