• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Should I cut my losses?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

CSC Georgia

Georgia

I am a small contractor new to area but with a 30 years work history in State. I recently bid a remodel that was approved by the bank. As soon as the new home owner got the loan money she began to request that each individual part of remodel be bid separatly. She wanted to do some work herself. This is common in area so I agreed. I bid and was accepted for the first portion of job, ie, Construction of fence around property ( needed as home is in a transition area with lots of theft.) I used a standard contract for materials and labor which was signed. We expected this fence to take about 7 days. I showed up on agreed date and problems started.1st, she wanted to keep full control of all material money herself instead of just giving me the money agreed upon to purchase materials specified in the contract. 2nd, She wanted me to shop each fence component for best price, the go from location to location setting up the order for her to go behind and pay for. ( this took all day) Then she did not want to pay delivery charges, so I had to have my crew pick up the fence components making 2 trips and taking most of a 2nd day( Friday) . Monday, we finally got to start putting up the fence ,3rd day , We got about 50 feet finished when we had to stoip work because a neighbor disputed the property line. We had to stop work for the day. On the 4th day (Tuesday) we arrived only to be told that it may take up to 3 weeks for a surveyor to come in a guarentee the lines. We spent the rest of the 4th day making custom gates then talked to the owner. At this point there was no