• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

PA, 78 on a 65 interstate

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Viper17

What is the name of your state?
PA

Yesterday, I recived my first speeding ticket. I was charged with violating Title 75 § 3362 a(1.1). It was issued by a PA State officer using a radar gun. I belive it was speed trap since the officer that gave me the citation was parked half a mile away from me and signaled me to pull over. Also they were two different names on the ticket under the person who gave my ticket and the person who operated the radar. I plan on not pleading guilty and need some help on my defense. I'm only 19 and my major isn't in pre law. All the info I gather was from online n reading forums like these.

1) I read that PA doesn't require officers to appear for trial, but in this case won't they be require since at least two different officers were involve. Could I argue that since both the officers doesn't know if they actually caught the right car speeding? Or that they could be an error in communication between the two officers?

2) Title 75 § 3362 a(1.1). basically states that I cannot drive past 65 where the department has posted a 65-miles-per-hour speed limit. But Title 75 § 3362 b(1) states that speed limit is only effective " at the beginning and end of each speed zone and at intervals not greater than one-half mile." I measured the distance from the sign to place where the ticket said I speeded (using the speedometer in my car) and it was 1.6 miles. Could I aruge that since I wasn't in a 65 mph zone and that I was charged for speeding a 65 mph zone, the case should be dimissed?