• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Need Info ASAP

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

skyward

North Carolina

I am a trainee in AIT home on Christmas Exodus. I have only been in the Army since September and I want out. The commanders at AIT have only been bullying me around and not letting me out, not allowing me to even speak, reading recommendations from doctors, etc.

I have been talking to GI Rights, a military lawyer and an AWOL individual through email...I don't want to go back. I just had several questions...

My basic plan right now is to NOT return from Christmas leave and wait until I'm DFR'd then wait several weeks or months and turn myself in at Ft. Sill in order to be discharged. I just want out...and I understand I'm most likely looking at an OTH discharge...

Can anyone please help me in understanding how exactly an OTH discharge affects you in the civilian world (specifics -- job, insurance, banks, stuff) and if they would even THINK about not discharging me when I turn myself in and just sending me back to my unit (I know I still have CIF issue signed out).

I have more questions so if you could possible get in touch with me, those individuals who have information/experience. Thank you so much...

Merry Christmas

Last edited by a moderator:

rmet4nzkx