• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Injured on a horse

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

heathermckean

What is the name of your state?

California

In September of 2003, I was badly injured when I was riding a horse for an aquaintance. I managed a large boarding facility and one of my boarders was an 18 yr. old girl who couldn't get out very often to see her horse. She asked me if I could ride him to give him some excercise and she would pay me. She neglected to mention that this horse was dangerous.

Within 10 minutes of me getting on the horse, he went crazy. I have been riding horses for 20 years and can handle most anything. But this horse had no regard even for his own safety and tosses me off. Consequently, I had to be life-flighted out of the ranch and spent 5 days in the hospital. I shattered my wrist, had brain swelling, and lacerations covering my body.

They did reconstructive surgery on my wrist and I was so badly banged up that I couldn't return to my job for over 2 months. I ended up having to quit my job because I was out of work for longer than they could wait.

The girl and her parents (who actually own the horse) never even contacted me regarding the accident. But I heard that the same horse badly injured another trainer only a month or so after me.

I have HUGE medical bills as a result of this accident. I lost my job, and am permantly scarred from the cuts. My wrist will never have the same flexion again. Is there anything I can do here?

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

heathermckean said:
What is the name of your state?

California