• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Should I fight this WV ticket?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

PorkLoin

What is the name of your state?West Virginia was where I got the ticket, though I am a resident of Ohio.

I'm 45, have been driving for 29 years, and have never seriously thought of arguing a traffic citation in court until now. I'd appreciate any advice and/or comments.

Last Wednesday night, 1:00 a.m. in heavy rain I am driving along a four lane, undivided highway. There is no other traffic. The speed limit is 50 MPH and I am going 50. There are flashing lights ahead. A front-end loader is working on the opposite side of the road, scooping mud and rocks out of the ditch.

A police patrol car is parked roughly in the middle of the road, a little closer to me than is the loader, with its lights flashing as well. I am in the extreme right lane as I see it, and my lane is clear for as far ahead as I can see.

As I get alongside the police car, there is an officer giving me the "slow down" sign - his hand extended at about waist level, his hand moving up and down. He's wearing a reflective vest, but in the rain I do not see him until I am right by his car. Until that time he had the flashing lights behind him, from my vantage point.

I see him, but there is not even time to touch the brake pedal before I am past him. I continue on to the next little town where my motel is.