• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

different medical premiums for same group benefit

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

bunny615

What is the name of your state?Wisconsin

I have worked for my current employer for over seven years. I was enrolled in our group medical plan for the first 3 years. For the past four years, I have been enrolled in my wife's medical plan. My wife has accepted a part time position elsewhere and I have asked my employer to be reinstated in the company plan. He said I could but I would have to pay the full premium cost for the family plan. I am a manager. I have asked the other managers and employees what they contribute to the company family plan. All of them state that they pay about $1000/yr. I am expected to pay about $9000. The company included $125/mo in my salary when I was not on the company plan. From reading other postings, it would seem the employer can pretty much do what they want when it comes to discriminating the fringe benefits they pay employee to employee within the same company. I am currently pursuing other employment opportunities but just wanted to inquire.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
And when you asked the company why the discrepancy, what did they say?

Beth3

From reading other postings, it would seem the employer can pretty much do what they want when it comes to discriminating the fringe benefits they pay employee to employee within the same company. Actually, that's far from true. It depends how the employer/insurance company has defined "classes" of participating employees.

The key question is the one cbg asked. Please post back and answer it.

bunny615

cbg said: