• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

question regarding a salaried employee and vacation time

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ldyalibstr

What is the name of your state? Colorado

Hi there. I am an office manager in a medical office and I have recently resigned from my job. I am a salaried employee and when I was changed from hourly to salaried 3.5 years ago I was told that I did not acrue time for vacation, that I was given 120 hours per year (june to june) to use for vacation. I have practiced in this manner for the past 3.5 years and have 1 weeks vacation left at the time of my resignation. When we have terminated employees or employees have resigned in our office, their PTO (paid time off) banks are emptied out and they are paid for these hours in the last paycheck. I know that Colorado does not have any requirements nor does it restrict employers regarding vacation pay, however since in our employee manual there are sections discussing that that is a benefit for a full time employee and with the precedent set by the use of my vacation time in the past years, plus the precedent with how they have handled the other hourly employees... should I expect that they should pay me for my remaining 1 week of vacation. I could have told them my last day would include a week of vacation when I turned in my resignation letter and I am told that they would have had to pay me. So need a little help here!

Thanks very much! :)

Beth3

Stating you were due 1 week of vacation pay in your resignation letter would not have obligated the employer to pay you. Using that logic, departing employees could state they are due 20 weeks of vacation and the employer would be obligated to pay.