• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

child hurt while in my home who pays

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

princessof4

What is the name of your state?washington

I was caring for a child in my home for a friend and i am not a licenced provider yet but have concidered doing so. The child was sitting next to a big dog and one of the kids landed on the dog causing it to jump up and the dogs head hit the little girls head causing a laceration to the eyebrow needing stiches. The grandmother told me that she had insurance for the child and now she tells me she does not and i need too pay all of the medical bills. The child qualifys for state insurance as she already gets state paid child care. does the grandmother have a liability to get the insurance for the child, and am i souly responciable for the bills.

GaAtty

GaAtty

You do not state if you were being paid to care for the child. Assuming you were, you had a duty to make your premises safe from problems you knew about. While I can believe that you would not know that the dog would hurt the child in this exact way, I think you may have a problem in that you should have been able to foresee that there could be a safety issue when any dog is with a child they don't know; it would have been so easy to just put the dog in a different room. On the other hand, if the child was non-paying, and a guest, then your homeowner's should pay, although it may be cheaper in the long run for you to just pay it if it is a small amount, rather than risk having your rates increased. I think that you are stuck with the bill, although you certainly should consult an attorney in your state, as laws in states differ.