• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Fell on Icy Stairs

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

hnramsey

What is the name of your state? North Carolina

I am a graduate student at a public university in NC. This past weekend (Saturday), I came to my department's building to work on my thesis as I always do on the weekends. I slipped on ice while walking down some outside stairs. I thought that I was ok but I still called the university's office of Public Safety to report the incident and to tell them that they needed to salt the stairs. I then filed a police report with the Office of Public Safety just in case I had any injuries (the Public Safety Office recommended that I do this). By Monday I was in so much pain that I decided to go to Student Health to have my tailbone examined. I found out that I have a chipped tailbone and they took several xrays and placed me on painkillers. I contacted the Student Legal Office and they told me that they cannot help me because the university is the adverse party. I would like to get help with my medical bills because I am a poor graduate student. What should I do?

BelizeBreeze

The legal office is correct. The attorney cannot represent you against the university because they pay his salary.

contact a personal injury attorney in town.

Lynx 36

Shouldn't a graduate student have the intelligence to determine that ice is slippery and to exercise due care when walking on it? I live in a region that gets snow, and no matter how much salt is put down, there will always be ice patches everywhere. It's wintertime, deal w/ it. Don't blame someone else f/ your fall.

Are you blind or can you see where you happen to be stepping?