• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can i apply for the H1 visa during the grace period?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

nottingham

What is the name of your state?Michigan

Dear Lana,

I am on OPT and it is going to expire on Feb 10th 2005. I have a MS degree form a US university. I want to apply for the H-1 visa on March 8th 2005.

Can I apply for the H-1 visa (On March 8th 2005) during the 60 days grace period without changing the status?

Do I have to change my status (go back to F1) before my OPT get expired (before Feb 10th 2005)? Or I can change my status during the grace period.

I will appreciate your reply.

Thank you.

ImmigAttyLana

You can apply for it during the grace period but it may not be approved as a change of status and may require you to go abroad to consular process for the H-1B visa.

Please let me know if you have any additional questions or if I may be of further assistance to you in this matter.

nottingham

Dear Lana,

Thank you for your reply.

My summary:
OPT ends Feb 10,1005
Grace period ends April 10,2005
Wants to appy for H1 on March 8,2005.

i have one question.

If we keep the H1 visa start date as a date before the grace period expiration date then do i have to go for consular process ?

If so then what is the process for that?

Thank you

ImmigAttyLana