• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Failure to stop, bicycle CA UCSB.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

lucaskacher

CALIFORNIA

I am a college student living in a small college town (1 mi x 1 mi) called Isla Vista next to UCSB. Biking is the most frequent way to get around places in IV and to school. One day on my way home from class 4 sherrifs were parked at a central location citing every bicycle that passed through a stop sign without stopping.

I was furious, here a law that no one even knew existed, OR has followed in the years that Isla Vista has been a college community. They flagged down over 50 people as i was waiting for my ticket, like a boy in queue for a ride only this ride was going to be to the santa barbara superior court.

I'm furious it was merely an act of quote fill the city will have made over $2000 in the bail forfiture.

My questions are this:
Will this result in a point on my driving records.
What ground do i have to argue this ticket.

I feel that since no standardized test is necessary for the operation and movement of a bicycle such laws are arbitrary.

Also i asked the officer if that meant that bicycles were supposed to follow all of the rules of cars, and he said yes. So i questioned his reasoning for not giving me a ticket for failure to signal, and he responded that it was not necessary to signal if no one was around. i called bull**** on him.

Whatever

any help would be great.
i have a month to appear and the ticket is $161.

Thanks.

Y

ylen13

did the city have a serious accident were a bicycle was involved and was serious injured as result of not stoping at stop sign?