• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

$1250, is it worth it (California - proof of insurance issue)?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

wtwthink

I'm a California resident, I live in Los Angeles and my case is with the West Los Angeles Superior Court. I was pulled over in August for no front license plate and given a fix-it ticket for that and because I had no proof of insurance, I was cited for that as well and given a court date. This had been my uncle's car and was under his insurance policy - he had died 2 weeks before - he had paid the insurance from 5/04-5/05. The car is now in my name and under my insurance. The officer issuing the citation illegibly wrote down my driver's license number and so when I called to see about the citation they had no record of any citation because it had been put in the system wrong. I have moved since then and neglected to follow through on this matter (including not showing up in court) until yesterday when I received a notice in the mail from the collection agancy saying that I owed the court $1250. I have preliminarily set up a court date for May 4th to show proof of insurance at the time of the citation, but if that wont remove what I owe I'd rather pay now and not risk a fee increase. Also, my driver's license may have been put on hold by the DMV - I am calling them tomorrow to see if that is the case. Can anyone tell me whether just by showing up in May with proof of insurance at the time whether I will be free of what I owe?

pablobono

You should appear in court in May.... It may not absovle you of all financial responsibility, but it's worth a shot.