• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

RE-4 upgrade, reserves, what??

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

AboveAverage26

What is the name of your state?TX I was an Aircraft Electrician in the Navy. To make a long story short, I was separated, 29 June 04, with an OTH and RE-4 for positive detection of marijuana. I know that the admin instructions say, you pop for weed, you get an OTH. I was on a medical board when i let someone reaquaint me with pot. It relived the physical discomfort i was experiancing. and when i was better and getting off of my board, i quit. Right after i failed a random at 66ng. And thats basicly what happened. I have always heard rumors about getting your discharge upgraded, but i never thought id need to worry about anything like that. I saw somewhere on this website about going into the reserves with a RE-4, is this possiable? could that apply to me? what options do i really have?

rmet4nzkx

There is a process for upgrading a RE-4 I have previously given the link, however that was for persons with general discharges w/ honorable not OTH, some RE-4 cannot be upgraded for entry into reserves. So if the reserves told you NO then you will have to live with it until the Navy decides to change it's zero tolerance for illegal drug use. Something you should have thought about before feeling good.

AboveAverage26

yeah thanx, i havent though about that already. Is that last sentance really necessary? yeah, mabey if i would have felt fine i wouldnt have done it in the first place. i thought yall were offering advise, not scarasm.

rmet4nzkx