• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Assets and SSDI

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Hurting_Nurse

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? New York State

I'm a registered nurse and recently injured my LEFT hand on the job. I injured my RIGHT hand on the job 3 years ago, and it has never recovered fully. My doctor suggested possible SSDI as he doubts my hand condition(s) will improve significantly. As well, I have other medical problems (fibromyalgia, unipolar disorder, anxiety disorder, neuropathy, Hashimoto's thyroiditis), and have been hanging on to work as long as possible (I am 48), hoping to retire early at age 55. :rolleyes:

I am married, I support my husband and my handicapped 19y.o. son, whom is in the middle of the appeals process for SSI. I was unable to apply for his SSI until he turned 18 as I "made too much money." :confused:

So my main question is this . . . does the fact that I own a home and have money in the bank have any bearing on my ELIGIBILITY for SSDI. I am aware income does effect the amount of benefits you receive, but does it effect your eligibility?

Any response is very appreciated.
:)

bjl1105

Hurting_Nurse said:
What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? New York State