• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Healthcare worker certificates

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

User0225

What is the name of your state? Tx

I am an occupational therapist working towards my OT licensure for practice in TX. I am currenlty on dependent visa (H4). I was wondering if I would require an H1-B visa to work as a licensed OT. I have heard something about Visa Credential Verification Certificates. Could somebody please tell me if I should be applying for it? Am I allowed to work using one of these certificates. Could you also give me some more information about lenght, procedure etc. Is there any website I can refer for more information.
Thanks in advance.

just_plain_dum

Even if you graduate from a US school, if you are going to apply for an employment visa (H-1B) you will need certification. Go to the Commission of Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools website at www.cgfns.org They do the screening not only for nursing but also OT. You will have to obtain a screening certificate from them. The procedure is well outlined on their website.

User0225

Oh!! I thought I should be refering to www.nbcot.org . I could not find anything about Occupational Therapist on www.cgfns.org .