• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

on b1/b2 right now to h1b? to f1? opinion please!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Norman D.

What is the name of your state? NJ

Hi? I am new here and I found this forum to be helpful. Anyway, here's my case:

I am a licensed healthcare professional for NY and I am hoping to be sponsored via a working visa by April. Problem is, my status is only until last week of March. I am certain from what I read that I am automatically ineligible for the visa if I become out of status just for a day. (I am on my first extension of stay since I came here almost a year ago.)

Now, what shall I do?

If I file for another extension of stay, what are my chances?

I've been thinking about applying for a student visa since my aunt is capable of financially supporting me. the problem is, from what I read, they say that it is hard for a b1/b2 holder to change to f1. is this true? should I just leave this idea behind?

Now, I am very much open to going home since I never want to be illegal here. But some skeptics say that if I go home, I might not be able to get a working visa since I have a record of extended stay here. (though it is valid and approved by the USCIS)

Still, some say that I have a great chance of being issued a working visa since I have all the required paperwork including my professional license.

But I am confused right now.

Can anybody please advised me what to do? Can anyone please tell me his/her opinion on this?

Another thing: