• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

need help marrying a man from a foreign country.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Stuck_in_Kansas

What is the name of your state? Kansas

I am a United States resident, and I would like to marry my finacee from Sri Lanka. I am not sure who to contact on what needs to be done to be able to marry him. He is here on a student visa, and has one year left of college. He does not have a permit to work, however, he has been working and paying tax as if he was allowed to do so. I don't know how much trouble that is going to cause us either. I just found out he doesn't have a work permit.

Basically, I am just trying to determine what must be done to allow us to marry, and attempt to retain citizenship for him. I would rather stay in the US, if possible.

I am sure there is a ton a paperwork and hoops to jump through, but I have no clue what they are and what needs to be done to complete this mess. We were hoping to marry soon, but now after reading a few postings I am worried as to what needs to be done first for this to be legal.

Help is greatly appreciated.
Thank you

evcalyptos

Stuck_in_Kansas said:
What is the name of your state? Kansas

I am a United States resident, and I would like to marry my finacee from Sri Lanka. I am not sure who to contact on what needs to be done to be able to marry him. He is here on a student visa, and has one year left of college. He does not have a permit to work, however, he has been working and paying tax as if he was allowed to do so. I don't know how much trouble that is going to cause us either. I just found out he doesn't have a work permit.