• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Hippa Violation?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ladcdm

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? AZ

I recently had a emotional breakdown and was taken to the hospital for 24 hrs. The mother of one of my children's friend works for the hospital system and was able to give my husband and adult children information that they were even unable to obtain. Was this a violation of my hippa rights?

correct_this

Hippa Rights

First off, I am no lawyer so I am only telling you this as a friend who has had to deal with these inane issues every time I go to the hospital. It is frustrating and these rules seem like they are cast in stone so I can only assume some legal framework is supporting them. Now, if money is a problem and it is with me and most of us I would first contact the Attorney General in your state. Even before you do that do some research on the Internet for particulars about the law so you have the language down when you contact the Attorney General in your state. Use Google.com search tool and type in the name of the law in question. Arm yourself and see what you can do. If all else fails, legal aid for free is available in many communities so you can explore that avenue also. Good luck, your story certainly indicates an injury of great proportions in relation to the law as I see it.

Last edited:

Katy W.

If someone working for a health care provider accessed and discussed your medical record then it is indeed a HIPAA violation. Go to the HIPAA website and find out what to do about it:

http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/hipaa/[/URL]

lkc15507