• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

protections against retaliation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

tslowleigh

What is the name of your state?NY
I work as a restaurant manager. employees approached me regarding liquor law violations being comitted by another manager (who is my superior) One of the employees also made the district manager (his superior) aware of the issue. The district manager has taken little to no action and states he is still investigating. this investigation has lasted 2 weeks so far and he has not contacted any of the "witnesses" (other employees, myself and another manager). Although we are disgusted that this is being brushed aside what concerns us now is potential retaliation. The manager in question has begun making comments concerning "getting back at those people involved", "getting rid of the troublemakers" etc. He also has been non-stop questioning employees to find out what they said or who they know is involved. The district manager is aware of these comments having been made. My question is do I or the employees have any protections? Do we need to report to the liquor board? These infractions are of a serious nature which could cause us to lose our license.

Beth3

Only someone familiar with your State's liquor laws can answer your questions. Generally, there are few protections in the law for employees who make internal complaints. With the exception of internal complaints of prohibited discrimation and a few other specific instances, the law only provides protections to employees who make complaints to a government agency. I suggest you contact NY's liquor licensing agency and inquire about any protections provided for in the law.