• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Condo Fees

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ricktrev

What is the name of your state? Florida
I am a resident of a condominum in South Florida. I own a boat and pay a matenance fee of $100 per month for use of a boat slip. Without doing into detail, the expenses of the dock amount to about $35 per month per boat slip. I do not have a problem with paying this amount in the hopes that the extra money myself and the other boat owners are paying may be used to also maintain the dock (not being done at this time and no plans in the future). (A reserve if you will).
The association wants to raise the fees to $250 per month. I have presented the board member with supporting documentation for expenses versus income etc. Their position is that they feel that there are more people in the condo willing to pay that amount and they will basically get that amount reagrdless of expense etc. As unfair and unusual as this might sound, I understand the premise of suppy and demand, but as a resident i would hope to expect a reasonable fee based on actual exspense etc. Not simple because "if you wont pay it some else will" mentality.
Is there anything I can do?

HomeGuru

ricktrev said:
What is the name of your state? Florida