• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Denied Unemployment benefits

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

galelio47

What is the name of your state? Michigan

I was recently terminated from my job and denied unemployment benefits. The determination notice stated "You were fired from your company for soliciting an undercover police officer. Your actions put your company's reputation in jeaopardy. Misconduct has been established. It is found that you were fired for a deliberate disregard for your employer's interests.

A few points-- I am a delivery driver. I was on a mileage run out of state and on (I say)'personal time' at the time of the arrest. Away from the vehicle and out of uniform. I am paid by the mile when out of state and by the hour when delivering in the state. Layovers and downtime are accepted as a general rule. I have an at-will contract. My employer was informed by the arresting officer by phone, and act by the arresting officer which I have adressed to his superiors that I felt the circumstance did not warrant. I bailed out and made my next morning pickup assignment. Upon completion of the assignment and prior to a conviction (which was a $100 fine) My employer fired me. Was I on Personal time and does my degree of misconduct warrant termination? Should I be denied my unemployment benefits?

Beth3

Was I on Personal time and does my degree of misconduct warrant termination? You were on a business trip at your employer's behest and were arrested for soliciting a prostitute. I would have terminated you as well.

Should I be denied my unemployment benefits? Apparently the State feels benefits should be denied and theirs is the only opinion that counts.

ENASNI