• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Termination letter required?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Spectre55

What is the name of your state? New York

First, I'll provide a summery of the situation. Then I will list my questions.
I'd appreciate it if someone could shed some light on this for me.

I was recently terminated by a major US corporation where I worked as a Quality Assurance Inspector for 18 months.

Over the past few months, I have been inquiring about a possible raise, since for the last 6 months, I've been acting as QA Supervisor while my boss is in Iraq. I was constantly told that they would get back to me, and they finally told me that my pay would be reviewed in March 2005.

Two weeks before March 1st, I was sent for a random drug test. The following week, I was called into the front office and told I failed both the initial and confirmation tests, and I was terminated effective immediately. I said ok, and after finishing the paperwork I was working on, left without a fuss. I didn't make a big deal out of it at the time since I was planning on quitting anyway if I didn't get the raise I required.

The problem is... I was never shown the results of the test, nor have they been willing to give me a copy of the results or even the Chain of Custody form that I signed when the sample was taken. They also refused to give me a letter of termination. I know for a fact that I did not fail the test. I couldn't have since I do not use drugs... never have. I don't want to work for them again, so I have no reason to lie. I just want to clear my name. I think that the only way to take care of this is to question the validity of the test process.